What do “free tickets on Southwest Airlines,” a “$1000 Visa Card, ” My Funny Name,”  “My Name Talks,” and “Coke Giveaway” all have in common?  Those are some of the recent scams available on Facebook.   They have taken on an interesting twist now.   Instead of a friend posting this on your news feed, you get an invitation to “like” a page.  But, like the other scams, when you like the page,  an application seeks permission to link to your profile, including personal information.  The next step is for the application to post to your wall, posing as you, and sending messages to your friends.  One can only guess what they do with the remainder of the personal information you provide.  Although the method is slightly different from the “normal” approach, the result is the same.  The advice that I provide is don’t click!  You are never going to get the free information, products or whatever.

When you are faced with a wonderful deal that is so very tempting, check before you click.  You can check for these scams on Facebook securityFacecrooks and/or snopes.com, or even just a Google search to see what is written about them.

What do you do if you have already clicked?  Well, first and foremost, remove the applications that have been installed so they will not do any additional damage.  Click on the small down arrow in the upper right hand corner of your browser, and select “apps.”   Follow the instructions to delete the application.  In addition, you must clean your news feed so that others do not see the offer and click on it.  Select the “x” in the upper right hand corner of each listing that mentions one of these offers (it becomes clear when the mouse is run over it).

Remember to follow the same rules  that you do in real life — if the offer sounds too good to be true, it probably is.  Walk away from such offers, or at least check them out before you provide data and access to them!

For more information, you can check out the recent post on Facecrooks.

 

Advertisements